UTAH DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH CENTRAL UTAH DISTRICT HEALTH DEPARTMENT APPLICATION FOR CERTIFIED COPY OF A DEATH CERTIFICATE

Certificates for deaths that occurred in the Central Utah area since 1979 are on file in this office. Certificates for deaths that occurred in Utah after August 1, 2006 are available on the computer.

WARNING: It is a criminal violation to make false statements on vital records application forms or to fraudulently obtain a death certificate. Punishment may include a civil penalty of up to \$5,000.00 and up to five years in prison. Utah Code, Sections 26235, 26235.5 and 26236.

INSTRUCTIONS

- 1. An application must be completed for each death certificate requested. ID is required of the person that signs this request. HAVE READY TO SHOW **EITHER** a state issued ID (with a signature) OR TWO other proofs (from our acceptable identification list) to obtain death certificates.
- 2. There is a fee of \$30.00 for each search of our files. Additional certified copies of this record ordered at the same time are \$10.00 each.
- 3. Send the completed application with an easily identifiable photocopy of the front and back of your ID and the required fee (checks or money orders made payable to Vital Records) to Central Utah Public Health Department, Vital Records, 70 Westview Drive, Richfield, Utah 84701. For any questions, please call (435) 8965451.
- 4. If the applicant does not respond to a written request from Vital Records within 90 days, Vital Records may retain all monies paid.

IDENTIFYING INFORMATION		
FULL NAME OF DECEASED		
DATE OF DEATH		
DATE OF BIRTH OF DECEDENT		
PLACE OF DEATH (City) (C	County)	
BIRTHPLACE OF DECEDENT (State OR County)		
USUAL RESIDENCE OF DECEDENT (City & State)		
FULL NAME OF FATHER		
FULL MAIDEN NAME OF MOTHER		
IF DECEASED WAS MARRIED, NAME OF SPOUSE		
APPLICANT		
RELATIONSHIP: I am: (Please circle one) Mother Father Other (Specify)		
Reason for requesting certificate:		
Your Signature	Date	
Printed Name	Telephone Number	
Your Address		
	(City, State & Zip)	
NUMBER OF CERTIFIED COPIES REQUESTED	, 	
1 CERTIFIED COPY \$ 30.00 +	name and mailing address below	
Additional Certified Copies (\$10.00) \$ TOTAL FEE \$		
Ψ		
For OFFICE USE ONLY (do not write below)		
Employee's Initials PAID: Check Cash Money Order Credit Card		

UTAH DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH OFFICE OF VITAL RECORDS AND STATISTICS FEE SCHEDULE EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2020

Search and issuance of certified copy of certificate	es	SPECIAL HANDLING FEE	<u>s</u>
of death, fetal death or certificate of search		(in addition to the fees listed at	ove)
1973 to the present:	\$ 30.00	Death certificate replacement fee	\$ 3.00
Death Amendments to correct information after o	ne year of	(Per copy within 90 days)	
event:	\$ 5.00	Credit card orders (1.5%-2.5%	convenience
Duplicate copies requested with initial search:	\$ 10.00	fee)	
Burial Transit Permit:	\$ 7.00	Expedite fee for 24 hour service	\$ 15.00

Acceptable Identification List to Obtain Certified Documents

Identification is now required for the purchase of a Utah birth or death certificate. Mailed requests must include an enlarged and easily identifiable photocopy of the back and front of your identification from the list below. If no proofs

are enclosed, your application will be returned. Each Check ($\sqrt{}$) represents a separate category.

PRIMARY At least 1 of the following:	<u>SECONDARY</u> Or at least 2 of the following:	
√ Government Issued Photo Driver License	√ Work Identification/Paycheck/W2	
√ Government Issued Photo Identification Card	√ School, University or College ID Card	
√ Government issued Work ID	√ Voter Registration Card	
√ Employment Card	√ Social Security Card	
√ U.S. Military Identification Card	√ US Military Separation/DD214	
√ Tribal Identification Card	√ Motor Vehicle Registration/Title	
√ Pilot License	√ Marriage License (not issued by Vital Records)	
√ Alien Registration Card	√ Court Order or Court Documents	
√ Permanent Resident Card	√ Jail/Prison Documents	
√ Temporary Resident Card	√ Veterans Universal Access ID Card	
√ U.S. Passport or Foreign Passport	√ Selective Service Card	
√ US Certification of Naturalization	√ Hunting/Fishing License	
√ Certificate of U.S. Citizenship	√ Insurance Cards or Documents	
√U.S. Citizenship Identification Card	√ Business License	
√ Matricula Consular Card	√ Professional License	
√ Concealed Weapon Permit	√ Medicare Card √ Property Tax Receipt	
√ Mexican Voter Registration Card	√ Probation Documents √ Utility Bill	

If you cannot provide acceptable identification, it is suggested that you ask a spouse, parent, grandparent, sibling, or adult child, who can provide appropriate identification, to request the certificate. Proof of relationship may also be required, such as a birth, birth or marriage certificate.

Street Addresses:

Sevier: 70 Westview Drive, Richfield South Sanpete: 40 W 200 N, Manti

Juab: 160 North Main, Nephi Piute: Courthouse, Junction Wayne:18 South Main, Loa

√ Jail/Prison Release Form (with picture)

West Millard: 428 E Topaz Blvd #D, Delta

East Millard: 40 N 400 W, Fillmore

July 2023